Multimeter questions

ApacheKid

Joined Jan 12, 2015
Hi,

I studied electronics and even wrote articles for electronics magazines in the UK in late 70s early 80s, but I never worked in the field professionally (ended up working in software).

So I'm rusty as hell and have some questions, how things have changed. I've just started setting up a new workshop at home and I'm kitting out piece by piece as I go shelving, cabinets, scopes, sig gens etc etc, will be repairing some old 1930s tube radios as well as putting some hew stuff together, I also dabble with STM32 devices from time to time.

The last multimeter I worked with for actual bench electronics was an Avo 8 - so you'll appreciate I have some catching up to do.

1612450647925.png

OK so I do have a small utility multimeter, a small portable inexpensive thing - Southwire - 10040N - I bought a few years ago as a utility for doing very basic stuff around the house, I fully appreciate this has severe limitations for serious electronic circuit development.

1612451047116.png

I was playing around last night and needed to use this meter to measure the DC current through an Infred LED, the (very simple) circuit was powered by a reasonable bench PSU but it's current readout is crude, very low resolution.

With the meter on the mA range it was say 1.987 mA, but when I switched the meter to the μA range it read like 1,654 μA. (and yes, it does have a brand new battery in it).

So I have no idea which of those readings is closer to reality, and I was doing some rudimentary calculations too, so having uncertainty about the current obviously impacts what I'm trying to do.

Anyway I realize I need a better meter and I like Siglent a lot (I have their 4 channel 200 MHz scope and one of their signal gens) so I looked at some of these.

The SDM3045 and the more expensive SDM3055 are in the right price range and clearly blow that utility meter out of the water.