Charging a battery from a custom circuit

Imstevil

Joined Oct 23, 2020
Hi all,

I'm very new to electronics, please forgive me if what I'm asking is a silly question. I have tried searching for an answer but as I don't really know what I'm doing I could be searching for totally the wrong thing and not been able to find anything.

The people I work with have asked me to come up with a system that will run some motors off a battery if power is lost. An example might be a electric gate that automatically opens when the power goes out.

With my limited knowledge I was able to make this system fairly easy. My main background is as a programmer, so I used an atmega328p and had the power going directly to a input pin. I could do a check against that pin to see if the power went out, if it did I would use a hbridge to control the motor which would run of the battery. This all works fine, tested it and had no problems with it.

The problem I now I have though, is I need to keep the battery charged. The battery would be lucky to be used once every year or 2 (how ever often there is a blackout).

The system itself will be running off an 18v AC power, so using an if the shelf charger is not an option. They also want it to fit nicely inside a project box which would not be possible with off the shelf charging packs either.

I know you need to adjust voltage and current to ensure batteries don't over charge or get damaged. Making something like this is well beyond my knowledge, I searched for any ICs that can do it, but everything I found was for small batteries, to small for my usage anyways.

So I guess my long winded question is, does anyone know of an easy way to keep a battery charged long term for emergency back up use. If there is some sort of IC I could look into, or maybe if there is a way to pass in the minimal voltage / current to charge it over a long period of time that won't damage the battery.