Controlling power

JRV

Joined Oct 27, 2020
Is there any AC device that allowes full range control on any circuit independant of load?

I want to be able to use a single controller to increase and decrease the power of any system and without the system affecting the controller. Seems that most controllers need to be bought at specific ratings for every unique system.

Im relatively new to electronics and right now I built a simple AC heated platform controlled via a 4000watt SCR voltage controller. My expectation was that when the controller is at 0 voltage the platform would be off and as I increased the voltage the platform would gradually get hotter but instead the platform almost melted when the controller was set to 0 voltage...

Now I'm adding resistors trying to drop the power of the system so that its atleast at a low temp when the controller is turned to 0 voltage with the hope that I'll have enough range to increase the temperature to where I need it to be.

I guess these controllers that rapidly switch the circuit on and off are not as straight forward as a variable resistor such as a rheostat but getting a variable resistor that handles AC power is too expensive and inefficient so I decided on SCR instead.

Trying to find out about other controllers at the moment and coming across many types like the variable transformer, liquid resistors, pwm's etc and wondering if there exists some sort of digital device that allowes 100% control range on anything from a single low power component to large high power designs

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Is there any AC device that allowes full range control on any circuit independant of load?
No. By way of an absurd example, a controller for a bedside lamp is completely different from one for controlling a power station!
If all you need to control is a range of low-current loads it wouldn't be economically sensible to make/use a controller designed for very high currents.

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016