How to read TMR0L and TMR0H registers together to create a delay?

z_iron

Joined May 24, 2020
Using PIC16F18446 TMR0 module to create a 1 second delay WITHOUT the use of the interrupts. Here is the program so far:

Code:
void main(void) {

// Oscillator Settings:
    // HFINTOSC 8 MHz
    OSCCON1 = 0b01110100;
    OSCFRQ = 0b00000011;

// Data Direction Settings
    TRISA = 0x00;

// Data Port Settings

// TMR0 Settings
    T0CON0 = 0b10010000;  // TMR0 Enabled / 16-bit mode
    T0CON1 = 0b01001000;  // Fosc/4 Source / Synchronized / 1:256 Pre-scalar

while(1){

if (  "TIMER0 < 7182" ){
            //BLINK LED CODE
        }

}

return;
}
I'm new to embedded programming. Essentially I've selected internal 8 MHz oscillator and the TMR0 clock source is Fosc/4 so 2 MHz. I've also enabled 1:256 pre-scalar and my math to create 1 second delay is as follows:

2MHz / 256
= 7182.5
TMR0 has to count to 7182 in order to last 1 second. My problem is how do I read the two registers TMR0H and TMR0L together, in an if statement to check whether it has exceeded this number, as efficiently as I can. There are a lot of peripherals in this PIC chip that utilities two registers to hold one value and the datasheet isn't clear to me on how to read the values in both registers as one total value. So how do I combine the registers in a single read and while I'm asking how can I do the same for writing?

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Just read/poll the interrupt flag (TMR1IF). No need to enable TMR1 interrupt (TMR1IE).

Edit: Apparently, the registers for TMR0 on that chip mimic TMR1 on earlier chips. Just treat them the same.

Last edited:

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
PIC timer 0 counts "upwards" to overflow (by default). That overflow sets the TMR0IF flag. You just have to check that flag.