My DIY LED Project needs help

RicardoRamos

Joined Jun 13, 2020
Hi,

I'm a complete noob but I like to learn in trial by fire.
So I got the idea to turn an old IKEA lamp from traditional lights to LED's.

It's this one:
Captura de ecrã 2020-06-13, às 21.08.06.png

It's 36 lights.
So I decided to buy 36 RGB LED's and a bunch of resistors.
The problem that some of the kind souls around this forum can help me with is the diagram to make this a reality.
I seen some videos with a single rgb led connected to an Ardoino board to controle the lights.
There are also controllers for RGB led strips, can I use that instead?
I was also thinking of using the power source from the lamp itself. It has an output oh 11.5V and 70W max.

I used this array wizard for each color but I'm not sure if this is the right way to go forward with it since their RGB led's and not the traditional one color 1 led design. And also I have no idea about the best way to controle the lights.

Any help would be so very helpful.
Led Azul ou Verde .png

geekoftheweek

Joined Oct 6, 2013
How many pins on your LEDs? RGB usually have four pins... one for either + or - depending on how they are built, and the other three for the three colors. If they are the four pin type you will not be able to wire them in series as your diagram shows. Many LED strip controllers actually send out data to the LEDs that the individual LEDs decode with a built in controller chip to vary the brightness of the individual colors. Each color in RGB LEDs will require a different resistor due to the each color has different power requirements. In my own projects I've found it hard to find the right resistors to make the LEDs produce the correct colors. A constant current power supply makes this much easier (although not perfect depending on the LEDs themselves). Microchip's LED driver comes to mind and I've used them in a couple of my own projects https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/CL2.

RicardoRamos

Joined Jun 13, 2020