I'm trying to assemble a Power supply for a Nichrome wire heater

birckcmi

Joined Jan 1, 2018
Hi. I'm trying to assemble the components to drive a single-Nichrome-wire device for heating sheets of thermoplastic. To get the material up to 350˚F should take about 3-4 amps with 20 gauge wire, so the power supply needs to deliver at least 5 amps. I know how an AC-to-DC power supply functions (transformer-rectifier-filter capacitors-voltage regulator), but I have no engineering background. The device can be AC or DC. I've heard arguments for both. I'd like to wind up with an adjustable power supply that can be used for other purposes as well, e.g., battery recharging, LED power, etc. I've gone looking for new and used off-the-shelf 5 amp power supplies, but the good used American-made 5A-10A supplies (B&K, Elenco, HP) are thin on the ground, and the New market is flooded with Chinese-built equipment bristling with inflated claims of capability and erroneous/doubtful/incomprehensible User Manuals. 100 different brand names all apparently coming from the same factory.
Sorry. I'm hoping that I can get recommendations for assembling components to power a nichrome heater. Do all of them need to be the same amperage? Should I regulate the incoming AC voltage, or just the DC out? Would I be better off just buying a Variac and sticking with AC?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Trying to have a power supply that can deliver 5A with variable voltage won't be cheap. What is the voltage adjustment range you think you need?

A computer power supply will provide 12V at 10's of amps inexpensively. You can add linear regulators to the 12V output for voltages under about 9V. If you need higher voltages, you can use boost regulators.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
A heating element can make heat using AC or DC so there is really no need to rectify the AC, think about a counter top kitchen toaster as an example.