Timer circuit design needed and I'm too dumb to figure it out

freewaydesigns

Joined Oct 16, 2019
I have an outdoor strip light from Wide Loyal (120V power supply, 12V circuit, ~11.0W) that I want to put on a conditional timer. Conditions are as follows:
-Indoor light switch turns on and off light
-Proximity switch at gate for when the gate opens, it turns the light on for 2 minutes even if the indoor light switch is off
-Motion sensor at front door (around the corner from where the gate is) that turns on the light for 2 minutes even if the indoor light switch is off
-Circuit will be outdoor subject to -40°C to +40°C temperatures in a moisture proof box

I have seen timer relay boards online, but I want something where I didn't need a separate 12V supply. Is there such a thing? Forgive me if this request sounds dumb, I am very new to circuit design, but am looking to learn.

Thanks in advance for all of your help!!

Nick

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Can you explain in more detail what you mean by “120V power supply, 12V circuit”?

Do you mean that the strip plugs into a 120V outlet which passes through a converter whose output is 12V? Or something else.

The light switch, proximity switch and motion detector all can control the light independently. There is one more input, which replaces two of these inputs. that I’ll describe in the next paragraph. Thus, with one side of each sensor/switch connected to a common and the other side is input to a controller or logic board.

You’ll need a two minute timer. One timer can be shared between the proximity switch and motion sensor. Their outputs are joined to switch on the light and start the timer. The timer output is the second input to the controller board. If the timer is on or the light switch is on, your strip illuminate.

More details including powering all this, depends on your answer to my first question.

Last edited:

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010