S550 Mustang Cluster Signals

04Retrofit

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Hi, I'm pretty new to the modifying of clusters and their inner workings. I have a basic understanding of the use of CAN signals in today's cars but do not know if there are different types used. I'm wondering if the signals sent to the S550 cluster are different from the signals sent to those in a new edge mustang cluster. I'm trying to retrofit the cluster from the s550 into the sn95. Any input on where to start or what to do would be helpful. I do not mind the challenge and have a really good understanding of electronics and wiring diagrams/schematics, but I do not know about the signals that are sent.

bwilliams60

Joined Nov 18, 2012
I would start first by supplying us with the years of the two cars. Being that they are both Fords, it is possible that the signals may be the same if they are within a couple of years of each other but if there is a wide spread, then probably not. There are a lot more variables in this equation such as sensor construction and calibrations. Keep in mind that it will possibly have mileage, hrs, trip etc plus all of the calibrations that wont match up as well as some form of security that you may have to overcome. Perhaps @narkeleptk can chime in on this as well but I think the only way you will figure it out is to compare them side by side or connect them up and see how it responds.

narkeleptk

Joined Mar 11, 2019
What year is the sn95? It looks like they range from 1994-2004. Is this a common swap in the mustang community?