discharge capacitor with a light bulb

kahnwasim

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Hi All.

Im a camera lens repairer & have been repairing lenses for sometime now. I'm tempted to repair a canon which has a inbuilt flash in it, now Ive seen a capacitor in the camera with a red & black wire soldered to it. I have no knowledge, how do I use a light bulb to discharger the capacitor. first of all what do I need to build the light bulb, how to assemble it & 2nd how do I apply the bulb device to the capacitor to discharge it?.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Connect two wires to the bulb (using a bulb socket if needed).
Then connect the wires directly across the capacitor.

Just about any incandescent (not LED) bulb should work.
A small value resistor (10-100 ohms) will also work.

kahnwasim

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Connect two wires to the bulb (using a bulb socket if needed).
Then connect the wires directly across the capacitor.

Just about any incandescent (not LED) bulb should work.
A small value resistor (10-100 ohms) will also work.
Thanks for your time. I’m a complete novice at this, is there any videos or diagrams to show this process how to build the bulb tester & where to Connect to the capacitor?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
is there any videos or diagrams to show this process how to build the bulb tester & where to Connect to the capacitor?
Not likely, since it's so basic.
What don't you understand about my explanation?
It's a simple matter of connecting two insulated wires to the two bulb contacts, and then touching those two wires to the two capacitor contacts.

kahnwasim

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Not likely, since it's so basic.
What don't you understand about my explanation?
It's a simple matter of connecting two insulated wires to the two bulb contacts, and then touching those two wires to the two capacitor contacts.
Sorry for sounding so dumb I don't know which part of the build to attach the wires. anyway I found this online & I think its the right tool for me