Check my reasoning about a charging a battery with the CC/CV algorithm, while attached to the load.

dtbullock

Joined Sep 13, 2019
I'm a newbie - I know V=IR, and VI=P (after considering power-factor in practical circuits), and that's about it. I need to get something built, and I'd like comment on whether my reasoning here is 'on track' or not. I'm not asking for help with designing a circuit (yet) ... I'm more trying to understand what that circuit needs to do, and why. (And whether I need to build one, or could buy one). Sorry it is long.

I have a portable load I wish to power, from a battery if no other power source is available. If another power source is available, it should power the load and charge the battery. One arrangement of charger/battery/load is that the battery is 'attached' to the load while being charged (as opposed to being contained 'contained' or 'detached' when charged).

Something like this:

upload_2019-9-17_0-35-39.png

(I don't know if this 'attached' arrangement is the right way to skin the cat. Possibly it is not. Mobile phones have roughly the behaviour I am wanting, and I hear that they use a 'contained' arrangement ... either the battery is connected to the charger (charging, while the external power-source powers the load), or the battery is connected to the load (discharging)... the battery is never connected to both the load and the power source at the same time. Some kind of fancy switch chooses whether the battery or the external power supply is powering the load, without interrupting supply.)

But plunging ahead with this 'attached' arrangement:

The battery a FusionAGM V-LFP-12-10 (PDF spec) is LiFePO4 ... but has an on-board battery-management-system such its charging characteristic is allegedly like a Sealed Lead Acid battery. Its features are:

• "Built in State of the Art BMS controls cell balancing, over and under voltage protection and short circuit protection"