Sending i2c over 7 meters

gkeep

Joined Oct 21, 2017
Hi guys,

I have an issue where I'm trying to send i2c data over about 7 meters with 1 x master (esp32) and 3 x slaves (VL53LOX). I was wondering if it would be possible to simply make some 19V (its the voltage of a motor im using in the same project) logic level shifters for each node. I'm kinda new at electronics, teaching myself for the past 4 years. Any help would be appreciated.

Joël Huser

Joined Jun 30, 2019
gkeep, you'd better transmit your signal via RS485 for such a distance. With RS485, you can easily drive 3 slaves.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RS-485
"RS-485 supports inexpensive local networks and multidrop communications links, using the same differential signaling over twisted pair as RS-422. It is generally accepted that RS-485 can be used with data rates up to 10 Mbit/s or, at lower speeds, distances up to 1,200 m (4,000 ft). As a rule of thumb, the speed in bit/s multiplied by the length in metres should not exceed 108. Thus a 50-meter cable should not signal faster than 2 Mbit/s."

RS485 is everywhere.... for example, DMX signals are based on R485.

Last edited:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Read this page:
http://www.mosaic-industries.com/em...age/instrument-control/i2c-bus-specifications

On the page this is given:
For reference, shielded 22 AWG twisted pair cables have capacitance in the range of 100-240 pF/m. So the maximum bus length of an I2C link is about 1 meter at 100 Kbaud, or 10 meters at 10 Kbaud. Unshielded cable typically has much less capacitance, but should only be used within an otherwise shielded enclosure.

Bertus

gkeep

Joined Oct 21, 2017
Datasheet says VL53LOX takes 3.6V max. When you apply 19V to it, you will fry it.
glhf
The 19V was for the bus only. The issue of short communication lines is the wire's capacitance, by placing the transistors near the nodes it allows current to flow faster. I was just wondering if anyone had tried it.

shteii01