first oscilloscope - Siglent SDS1104X-E Vs. Hantek DSO3254A

super7800

Joined Apr 3, 2019
hello all. i am a first year eeng student looking to buy his first oscilloscope. i have been looking at something like this four channel osciliscope: http://www.hantek.com/en/ProductDetail_134.html, (the DSO3254A) which features up to 250 MHz and 1GSa/s and costs about 475usd. i want to "overbuy" now, so that in the future i wont need to upgrade for a long time. i played around with its software and it seemed to do what i wanted, but alot of people online complain about it.

my question is if anyone owns this oscilloscope or other equipment from this brand (hantek), do they recommend it, and are the specs sheets accurate? should i try to buy a used older scope from a more reputable brand, and are there any specific models people recommend? my budget is about 400-500usd, but less is better. also is there any benefit to owning a more "conventional" scope? (i dont care about the loss of physical controls or screen). "conventional" scopes have the bnc jacks grounded, can this be done with a USB scope as well?

the only features it must have are:
-4 channel
-1 GSa/s +
-200 MHz +
- USB (or other interface) connectivity
- ext trigger

the spec sheet for this specific unit is below so that someone more experienced can take a look. any advice is appreciated, thanks!

Attachments

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
IMHO, avoid the PC type scopes for an only scope. If your budget is small, I think you're better off getting a good used scope than a bad new scope. Check eBay, you may find a good used scope. Also something to keep in mind; if your PC scope is connected to your PC via USB, and you accidentally touch the probe ground to something capable of significant current, that current is most likely going right through the USB cable and through your PC. Someone I know did this, and they ended up with a new computer.