Help identifying wifi component on a PCB

feedbcak

Joined Apr 25, 2019
sorry for the inconvenience but i have close to zero knowledge in electronics.
TL;DR: does it have wifi capabilities?
longer story:
I bought a wifi RGB LED strip controller and when I connected it to 2 different LED strips, nothing happened. (Voltage and Amps are as required)
I opened the case and did some search and didn't find any indication this board has wifi in it.
(I guess im looking for a WIFI chip like this here marked in blue line:1111.jpg)

so I came here to ask if it actually has wifi capabilities in it.
if it do have wifi, then why do the LEDs not light up?
I can get soldering iron and a multimeter if needed. I have some experience with soldering so I doubt it'll be a problem.

an exact copy of my board from google (clearer image):
chip is ESP8285
board is ZJ-WFMN-A v1.1
DSC_5851.JPG

Thanks and again sorry for the inconvenience.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
The ESP8285 chip has wifi, the antenna seems the same size as your reference design, my verdict is yes, this board has wifi capability. If and how it is used is a different question.

feedbcak

Joined Apr 25, 2019
The ESP8285 chip has wifi, the antenna seems the same size as your reference design, my verdict is yes, this board has wifi capability. If and how it is used is a different question.
Thanks for the quick answer.
as for the LED strip (and wifi) not working, I guess I'll have to get a multimeter and check if the correct voltage is coming out of the output v+ pin?
in reference to what do I check that voltage? the red v+ cable?

feedbcak

Joined Apr 25, 2019
You may want to re-flow the 3 SOT-23 components, red wire and black wire.
That 6 leg IC looks probably like the voltage regulator for the mcu but you can just check at the MCU to see if its getting power.

here is the datasheet for mcu:
https://www.espressif.com/sites/default/files/0a-esp8285_datasheet_en_v1.0_20160422.pdf