Looking for a designer (UK)

Mike Brickman

Joined Mar 12, 2019
So, I'm a programmer but know nothing about electronic engineering. I have developed scoring and results software for the sport of Dog Agility but need to take this a step further and integrate a timing solution. This would involve a simple light curtain design. I have a 'theoretical' design but have no idea how to turn this into an actual working system.

Any suggestions about how I find a 'volunteer' to help achieve this. I have a small budget, but this is a hobby sport so funds are very limited. Ideally I would like to find a retired or hobby designer who is looking for a fun project. All materials and costs would be paid plus a little beer money. If they are based in the South West of England and have a dog then so much the better.

Apologies if this is a bit off topic, but I had no idea where to start.

hexreader

Joined Apr 16, 2011
There are a lot of very helpful people on this forum. I recommend that you give concise details of the project here and you might get a good range of ideas that could lead to better solutions.

Too much to hope that all of the sensors could be fitted within tunnels I guess? Much simpler than detecting dog position in the wide open

Uilnaydar

Joined Jan 30, 2008
Agree with Hex. Get a concise set of specs together and toss it up here and unleash the AAC hounds.

As a programmer, YOU could do this project given enough time and research. This is a perfect project for those wireless modules that speak Arduino. From watching (I'm a bird dog trial guy, not agility) agility sensors at each obstacle would "fire" on proximity and wirelessly send to the main timer host. Then it's just about what HMI/crowd display you want.

Sensor options
  • Is this a light curtain?
  • Collar device for proximity?
  • wires/wireless?

Scorer's table options
  • Penalties for "ugly" dogs
  • go/no-go for valid run (maybe a sensor failed)