12VDC, Scope and Shunt.

Martin Koen

Joined Mar 11, 2014
Hello All.

This is a wonderful community and I enjoy the opportunity to contribute.

Primary objective: Measure starting current drawn from automotive battery in automotive application in order to inform design and development of 12VDC batteries and related systems.

Secondary objective: Measure current draw on 12VDC battery that triggers Battery Management System (BMS) to shut off (close) draw from battery, in order to assess batteries for technical specifications and monitor stock to meet specifications.

Equipment at hand.
Some knowledge of electronics, physics and chemistry.
Large assortment of varying styles and capacities of batteries.
Hantek DSO1000 Series Handheld Scopemeter
'Heavy Duty' Shunt 200A, 50mV
Globe automotive, 55/60W 12VDC
Wire, etc.

Unfortunately I have little experience using a scope, even less using a shunt. I wanted to create a circuit where I measure the current spike connecting the globe to the battery, a somewhat miniature of my two objectives.

My diagram of miniature.

Shunt specs
Max. current 200A
Voltage at max. current 50mV
Shunt resistance 0.25mOhm
Accuracy 0.5%

Measuring mV across shunt I get 11.4 mV (by across shunt I mean -ve probe to battery side little screw, +ve probe to little screw globe side, with switch closed, globe lit.) Probes used for multimeter on scope.

Measuring Ohm's across shunt I get 0.1 Ohm's with switch open.
Measuring Ohm's across shunt I get 4.9 Ohm's with switch closed.

Ohm's Law states Current = Volts / Resistance
Current = 0.0114 / 4.8
Current = 0.0024

Is this correct? How can I confirm my findings?