12VDC .17A Solenoid Controller

Adunn

Joined Jul 9, 2010
Hi all I am a Mechanical Engineering student with limited electronics experience. I am building a simple device using a pneumatic air cylinder and a solenoid controlled air valve and while all the mechanical parts are done I can not seem to find and easy inexpensive way to control the system. The goal is once plugged in the cylinder will just cycle between extended and retracted indefinitely.

My thought was to use and alternating relay and an AC-DC converter to from the 110VAC in the wall down to the 12VDC required at the solenoids. My issue is I can not seem to find any 12VDC relays which I believe would mean converting after the relays therefore needing 2 converters instead of one which gets pricier.

If anyone can direct me to some parts that would accomplish this or even a better system I am very open to suggestion.

Thanks for any help,

Adam

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
You can get yourself a wall wart, to get you from your wall voltage to 12vDC for your relays.
That is the safe way. The transformer in the wall wart will protect you from the mains voltage if anything goes awry.

And a search will give you thousands or results on 12v relay

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
I don't think you need a relay, just a transistor plus a freewheeling diode. And if you simply want the device to cycle back and forth, the easiest way to do it is with an LM555 timer set up as an oscillator. The frequency would be set by a resistor, and if you build it with a variable resistor, you could adjust it.

And yes, for power supply you should be able to find a cheap, safe, simple wall wart.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Tell us about the solenoid valve that you're using. Is it a 5-port valve?
You'll need one in order to reverse the direction of airflow in the cylinder.