12v Battery Low Voltage Monitor Help

JimmyJazz

Joined Mar 15, 2010
Hello

I would like to build the circuit below:

12-volt-battery-low-warning.jpg

I have never built a circuit before but I am quite familiar with wiring and a soldering iron. But there are just a few things I would like to clarify first and hope somebody can help.

1. Is the V In on the LED side linked to the 12v V In on the other side.
2. Is it possible to substitute the LED with a 12v bulb. would you just remove the 500R.
2. What is a 500R.
3. Do you think this circuit would be OK to link into an alternator charge wire to operate the charging / not charging warning light.

Apologies for the barage of questions and thanks for any help.

Alan

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
1. Is the V In on the LED side linked to the 12v V In on the other side.
Yes, it is.
2. Is it possible to substitute the LED with a 12v bulb. would you just remove the 500R.
No, 12v incandescent bulbs require much more current than the 741 opamp can sink or source.
2. What is a 500R.
That means 500 Ohms. 500 Ohms is not a standard value of resistance, however you could use a 510, 560, 620 or 680 Ohm resistor with not much of a noticeable difference.
3. Do you think this circuit would be OK to link into an alternator charge wire to operate the charging / not charging warning light.
Is this an automotive application? Most autos either have an alternator "idiot light" or a meter to indicate state of charge/discharge.
If you decide to build this circuit, I suggest that you set the threshold to around 13.6v; below that indicates not charging, above that indicates charging. You will need to isolate the circuit from the alternator output using a filter, otherwise the electrical noise from the alternator will quickly kill it.

JimmyJazz

Joined Mar 15, 2010