100+ channel data acquisition

rrenslow

Joined Mar 8, 2011
Ultimately my goal to measure potentials (0 to 2 V range) of hundreds of small fuel cell electrodes. I am a chemical engineer and need help due to lack of electrical engineering knowledge.

I have a Measurement Computing USB-1608FS and Matlab to control it. It has 8 analogue channels and 8 digital IO channels.
Specs are here.

How can I use this to measure 100+ potentials? The measurements do not need to be simultaneous. Is there any way to have each analogue channel read several potentials consecutively? I was thinking there is a way to use the digital IO channels to control a switch of some sort. I really have no idea about circuits, but I think I have heard that it is possible to use a digital signal to control a switch.

Just to be clear, I know how to control the USB-1608FS, and I know how to use Matlab to access all the channels. My question is regarding essentially multiplying the number of channels so I can take more readings than just 8.
Thank you for any help, it is much appreciated! Cheers.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
There are different ways to do this, but you need to specify some constraints first. Some of the most important are:

1. What kind of voltage resolution do you need?
  2. How fast does each measurement need to be made?
  3. How much time can you allow for switching to the next channel to be measured?
  4. Is this a one-off situation or will you need to replicate it in multiple systems?
  5. Do you have access to anyone who can do some EE design work for you?
  6. What's your budget?
The first three questions are the most important. Think carefully before answering because costs can rise dramatically with increased resolution or faster speeds. Or let us know if you absolutely have to use the stuff you already have on hand (there might be other choices that are better).