10 x 10 LED Array Help

ZJMann

Joined Jul 12, 2012
Hello,

I am somewhat new to LED scene, but I wanted to undertake a project. Upon my own research and internet musings I have come to an in-pass. I am looking to build a dual 10 x 10 LED matrix. It is for a large version of a battleship type game I want to build. My objective is to have the two 10 x 10 LED arrays light up when a hit or miss is made. I have little knowledge of programming, so I was toying with the idea of making the array with a micro switch on each LED and having a red and blue LED per square in the array. It would be a tactile on off switch, I was looking for a SPTT switch, but they are expensive or only in toggle form, not push button. The problem I have with my solution is that I would be looking at $80.00 just for LED's and switches not including any other materials. If anyone knows any other solution of has any idea for a way that I can make such an array I would be very happy to hear from you. I am looking for the ability to have a dual 10 x 10 LED array that has each square able to be controlled separately, and thus lighting up either a red or blue LED. I am not opposed to a arduino type solution if it exists, but I do not have the background to really program code. Thanks again for any ideas.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
This is doable but a bit more than you can chew. It would be best for you to start off with something simple so that you can build experience. Get an arduino and make an LED flash.
Next, build something like a digital clock.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
You can buy LED matrices which work out much cheaper and easier to use than individual LEDs, they tend to come in 8x8 or 5x7 which isn't ideal for you, but could give a bit of extra space for a score, etc. I just got 10 8x8 matrices for about £6 from Ebay. They are available in single colour, red+green and red+green+blue. I'll be using shift registers so I don't need dozens of I/O pins.