10 minute timer to pick up a 12v relay

aughtago

Joined Apr 13, 2012
Disclaimer- I am a real amature in electronics, I am a master electrician by trade, but have only dabled in electronics.
I am designing a solid state circuit and basicaly need the equivilent of a 12V TDPU relay that is not the size of a juice box, low power consumption low $ and will operate in the 10-15 minute range.
Despite all I read about NOT using too large of a capacitor, I tried to design my own circuit with a 555 timer. I just breadboarded it and it failed. Is there any hope for this circuit or is there a better option.

I will try to attach my sketch from sketchup so you can see where I am starting. Note that I deleted the rest of the circuit and left only the timer portion, I need time to start when R contact closes and need to pick up the 12V TR relay after the adjustable time delay of about 10 minutes or slightly longer.

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
For such a long period a 555 doesn't work well as you found out. Instead you can use a low frequency clock driving a counter such as this watchdog timer, which can be set from minutes to hours by adjusting the oscillator frequency as determined by the Rt and Ct values.

aughtago

Joined Apr 13, 2012
Thanks, that looks like it might work for me. I'll have to pull up the data sheet for the 4060 and get familiar with it. At first glance it looks like I could drive my output relay right off of pin 14 as shown. my only question is on the input, as I do not have a pulse from the R contact, it closes and stays closed. In my previous circuit I had incorporated a design I found called a trigger network using R1, R2, C4, and D3. I hope something simular will work here.
thanks again for the quick reply

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008