0-5VDC analog signal from a WB O2 monitor

TheEquineFencer

Joined Apr 20, 2007
OK, here's what I have. I'm looking at using a Wide Band O2 sensor that has a 0-5 VDC output. 0V = 10 AFR, 5V=20 AFR Air Fuel Ratio. Voltage output goes from 0v=10 to 0.05V= 10.1, 0.1V= 10.2, 0.15V= 10.3, here's a link to the table to show the range.

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/r...ogOutTable.pdf

What I want to do is use this signal to trigger an alarm when the AFR reaches a preseleted level, too lean. I want to be able to select the level with a digital display, but for now I'd be happy to use a potentiometer and a Fluke meter if I can to select the preset point. I guess what I want to do is be able to select when the 0-5V input rises above a preset point.
I'm a 50 year old "newbie" to working with electronics, so please bear with me, I'm still learning. I know what I want to do and have reasonable understanding of how componets work. I think what I need is some type of comparator with an way to adjust the input voltage preset point and use a mosfet to trigger the alarm. I was wondering if I could use some type of circuit that uses a LM 3914 Ic? I'm open to ideas.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Actually this isn't a soup up or circuit that in any way hooks up to or modifies the pollution controls, he's just looking for a warning if his air/fuel ratio accidentally goes too lean which could be considered to be a tester. (and an engine saver) Cars don't come with wideband O2 sensors nor will they interface with the computer controls used. Had he asked how to adjust the injector pulse width utilizing one it might be different. He just wants a simple A/F gauge.

People commonly add something like this to ensure that their existing turbo wastegate is closing or that their actual emissions controls are working properly thus ensuring the engine is operating properly and NOT contributing to pollution. It's a totally self-contained circuit :: +, GND, the sensor and a readout method.