0-10v bandsaw deviation monitor, help

kenx22923

Joined Apr 18, 2011
I'm a newbie when it comes to this kind of stuff, but what I'm trying to do is construct a 0-10volt monitor that will light 20 less across the range to reflect the deviation of a saw blade in the cut, a different led depending on blade deflection. I have an analog 0-10 volt sensor but I need 20 less instead of the customary 10. I have a diy kit but it is set up for 0-20v. (schematic is available) I'm thinking its a simple matter of changing a couple of resistors in the kit, but I dont have the electronics background to figure it out. I would be grateful for any and all help
Kenneth

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Please post a link to the DIY kit so we can take a peek. For my own curiosity, Is this a wood or metal cutting bandsaw? Are you using this to set the blade tension prior to operation, hence it doesn't remain on the saw?

kenx22923

Joined Apr 18, 2011
The saw (sawing logs in a mill) on this peice of equipment is fed manually by an equipment operator. The problem is no matter how good he is the only way to tell if you are over feeding the saw blade is a pitch change in the sound of the saw or worse miscut lumber, worse case scenario--a damaged saw. I have a 200hz inductive prox sensor that can detect blade position change down to .004" with a linear 0-10v output. The goal is to translate this voltage change into a visible guide to the sawyer. LEDs in the middle lit, all is good, as the saw deviates from its correct position there will be a shift in which LEDs are lit (color coded green, yellow, red) to alert the sawyer he is pushing on the edge. Not only will this keep him from over feeding the blade it will let him know if he has a good cutting saw that can be pushed harder.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
The problem is no matter how good he is the only way to tell if you are over feeding the saw blade is a pitch change in the sound of the saw...