Panasonic RA-6600 repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

gloveofpower

Joined May 7, 2013
First posting: I'm looking for some technical/troubleshooting assistance on repairing a vintage receiver. Maybe this is the right forum to find knowledgeable help, or maybe I am posting in the wrong area? Please forgive me if so!

So I picked up a Panasonic RA-6600 (it's got a built in 8 track recorder!) that has some issues and I would like to get her operational. I have some experience troubleshooting audio equipment, skill with a soldering iron, familiarity with microelectronic component types/functions, and handy at repairing things in general... but still in need of some guidance. I am a younger guy and hoping to find a forum where I can learn about repairing electronics... most specifically vintage audio equipment because it could become a wonderful lifelong hobby for me if I were to get good at it.

As for the Panasonic, the guy who I bought it from said that it was working great (and he seemed genuine) except for the fact that it had blown fuses on the back. He said he thought that someone had bridged the speaker outputs while disconnecting it and therefore replacing the fuses should restore it to operational status. I replaced the fuses with appropriate 2 amp fuses and hooked up a small speaker to test her. When plugged in and turned on, the single lamp which lights the front display did not turn on (filament inside the bulb appears intact). The speaker buzzed and I could see the cone withdraw to its maximum inward position. Searching around online, I found an article saying that behavior of the speaker cone which I observed is a very likely sign of a shorted output transistor from the power amp section, trying to output the full rail voltage into the speaker terminals.