12V to 6V (3ma max)

gregthegeek

Joined Apr 10, 2013
I'm new to circuit building but have always been good at figuring out electronics. I'm hoping to get pointed in the right direction.

I have a bunch of police scanners that operate on 4 AA batteries (4.8V or 6V). I'm sick of replacing the batteries every day (use them for my job). I want to hook up a huge 12V car or lead acid battery to power them. I used my multimeter and measured 1.4ma with the light and speaker off, and up to 2.9ma with the light and speaker on full volume.

What would I need to build a voltage regulator to go from a 12V battery to 6V with a maximum of 3ma? Will the 7805 voltage regulator work or is there something better?

I think my biggest confusion is that I don't understand how to shop for a voltage regulator based on the 3ma. Do voltage regulators work in a "up to X milliamps" mindset? For example, if a voltage regulator states "up to 1 amp", will this work if I only draw 3ma or do I need one specific to 3ma?

I would prefer to keep the circuit as simple as possible in the beginning. I can improve it in time. I'd like to keep the heat down as there will be as many as 4 of these under my car seat. If I need to add capacitors/resistors to reduce noise (either literally audible noise or radio frequencies), then please let me know. I can't stand listening to electrical humming and don't want any interference being generated near my police scanners.

This is what I'm thinking, but I need 6 volts (I think? Or will 5 volts work fine? 4 AA batteries equivilent): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTylbNtZW3A

Last edited:

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
The 7805 will not handle an automotive load dump, I believe. Such an event will destroy the 7805 and possibly your equipment. You're much better off purchasing an off the shelf 'battery eliminator' that plugs into the cigarette lighter.

YokoTsuno

Joined Jan 1, 2013
Will the 7805 voltage regulator work
Yes, there is no minimum current required.