Passive audio mixer, stereo to mono switch per input.

Zatnikitelman

Joined Jul 17, 2005
Hello all. I'm attempting to build a passive audio mixer from multiple sources to a single stereo headset. It's based off of this design here: http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/linemix.gif
I had originally intended to include the stereo potentiometers, but their price is such that I'll just live with controlling the volume at the source. I'll have much more than two inputs. However, I'm a ham radio operator, and all of my rigs output audio in mono rather than stereo. I'd like to hear their sound through both ears so I plan to include a stereo to mono switch on some of my inputs so when the radios are plugged in, I can throw the switch and get audio out of both speakers on the headset. However, I'm stuck on how exactly to wire the switch in. I understand that I should have some "isolation" resistors to isolate the various inputs from each other. I also figure that I can't just short the Left and Right channels together without bad things happening. Here's a rough MS Paint schematic of a single input and its relationship to the output: http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd230/Zatnikitelman/monostereooptions_zpse1afaf37.jpg