Long hours at work

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I have been informed that we will be working every day until New Years, with only Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, and Christmas being excepted, by one of the Sr. Managers. I've been working 6 days a week for quite a few months already, which is why I'm not the presence here like I usually am. They are going to be mandatory work days, so it is said, and those employees with plane tickets and plans are just going to have to eat the costs.

They slipped up and gave us today off, and there is a chance I'll get some of next weekend off, we'll see. It is possible this guy has violated one rule of leadership, never give orders that won't be obeyed, but I think he was dead serious. We'll see.

It brought me down to a massive degree, but I've worked through it. Since I use my real name here I won't be discussing how I will handle it, I am at a point I am desperate for this job as never before. The insurance is the thing, I can not give it up.

Oh well.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
That's hard. I did seven day weeks for a couple of months once, but management made it optional. They offered time and a half for the Sundays and a £500 bonus for completing it. Most people took it up and it's a much nicer way of doing it.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Normally we get 10 days off for this time of year, but since we are a defense contractor they are trying to squeeze as much work in before the potential fiscal cliff. It is one of our benefits, and it was something I was counting on for my personal sanity.

Before this discussion goes down one path I foresee, no politics. The financial cliff is a possibility, but I will not allow the discussion to go down this path (part of my job here).