Need your experiment to guide me

ygi

Joined Jul 23, 2010
Hi,
I am new on the forum, and try to gather info in order to achieve my personal project. I have some knowledge in electronics, but i am in IT, I have developped in ASM, but today I develop mainly in C# (passing by Ansi C, C++).
I am doing a new personal project whith my cousin who knows a lot more than me in electronic, but don't know anything about developpment..

Our choice lead us to use a PIC to do the suff we want, and I will be developping the prgm for the PIC (In C it will be great)

Browsing the net, I have seen a lot of methods, tools, IDE and so on to program, emulate, debug...

You have to know that the program won't be really complex, but I am totally lost on what will be easy to use

I have downloaded MPLAB Ide, I can hardly use it :) what will you suggest ?

In order to write (flash) the application into the PIC, which one would you suggest ? I have seen one ine the velleman Kit (35 €), but not listed directly in the mplab...

ygi

Last edited:

Vaughanabe13

Joined May 4, 2009
Get a PICKit2 programmer directly from microchip. It's cheap and works for almost any Microchip uC:
http://www.microchipdirect.com/productsearch.aspx?Keywords=DV164121

The programmer uses "ICSP" which lets you program the micro in the circuit without having to take it off the target board. It only uses 5 pins. The first is for a programming voltage, which should be connected directly to the PIC's "MCLR" pin. The next two are power and ground. Then you have data and clock, which connect directly to the "PGD" and "PGC" pins of your PIC.