Circuit to activate only when high for more than 1.5 seconds?

kyroguy

Joined May 12, 2010
I am trying to put together a circuit to take a signal from a fingerprint reader and turn it into a signal to open a latch.

Long story short, I have located pads on the fingerprint reader that are high (~3-3.5v) when the proper fingerprint is swiped and low (0v) when no finger or the wrong finger is swiped. Here is my problem. To activate the reader a button is depressed. For a split second the area that I would like to use goes high then immediately goes back to low.

To remedy this I need to make a circuit that will only accept a high signal that lasts more than 1 or 2 seconds. It will disregard any high signal that lasts less than one second. Then this circuit can ultimately trigger my relay or latch to open the door.

I know this probably sounds simple, but I am a beginner. To give you an idea, I have been poking around on this circuit board for days (literally) with a multimeter looking for a suitable set of contacts. I understand basic resistors, capacitors, transistors and that sort of thing. Please ask any questions needed for clarity. Also, when responding talk like you would to a 2nd grader. :)

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
How big are you? "SO BIG" aww now eat your peas.
(that may be younger than 2nd grade)

The easiest way I can think of would be a microcontroller.

It could be a simple few lines of code. Start a timer when an input pin goes high. Stop when it goes low. If the elapsed time is >1.5 seconds then output a high on an output pin else reset and wait for the next high.

kyroguy

Joined May 12, 2010
I am familiar with that concept but have not the slightest idea how to put it into practice. What is the best microcontroller for this project and how do you program it? Part numbers and sources would be really helpful!

kyroguy

Joined May 12, 2010
And programming this thing is easy?