Mosfet circuit question - solar design conundrum

russpatterson

Joined Feb 1, 2010
Hi There,

I've got a problem for a solar project which is: I need to turn the panel off if the battery is nearing overcharge, however I need the panel to be on if the battery, and the MCU (PIC in this case), are dead. I've been through a few circuits (and burned up a PIC or two) but I think I have a solution.

Does this schematic look legit?

http://backyardsolar.blogspot.com/2010/01/n-channel-mosfet-panel-solution.html

I'm new to MOSFETs and appreciate any insights. I'd be interested in any other designs for this kind of thing if you know about one.

This design does suffer from the drawback of overcharging the battery if the MCU side of things fails for any reason (voltage regulator, software etc.) which is not the best but seems better than a solar device that can't work once the battery is dead.

Thanks!

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Several problems with yours. Here is one that works. Keeps the gate voltage at 10V. Will default to the ON state if the PIC dies as long as the PIC dies in a mode where its Port pin is HiZ or Low.

Attachments

Last edited:

russpatterson

Joined Feb 1, 2010
Thanks for the reply. I do only switch on the negatvie side of the panel. The positive side is always connected to the battery. Sorry for the confusion, that's just a section of the schematic for the whole project.

I use that positive side voltage to turn the MOSFET on. So if the panel has voltage; it's switched on and current flows to the battery. I can turn the MOSFET off by setting an I/O pin on the MCU high, which will cause the gate on the mosfet to sink to ground and turn off. If the MCU pin is low or high z then the MOSFET is controlled by the panel voltage.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
Will default to the ON state if the PIC dies as long as the PIC dies in a mode where its Port pin is HiZ or Low.
Of course Murphy would no doubt make sure the PIC die outputting HIGH. :D