Quiz Table Buttons

Jump

Joined Aug 11, 2009
First of all I'll state I am new to this electronics stuff, have been interested from a distance but not had the time and/or need to actually do any ... but that is about to change ... I have given myself a project to build a set of quiz buttons for use at a Cub Scout pack I help run. I appologise in advance for any 'noob' mistakes below and if some of the phasing and naming of components etc are erroneous. What you see here is 1 weeks knowledge I've managed to glean in breaks from work, the diagrams come from 30 minutes with Eagle Layout Editor that I got a link to from somewhere. This is quite a long post - sorry...

I need 4 or less teams/switches and the associated indicators etc.

I had a quick search around and found a few circuits to have a look at:

1) http://www.electronicsforu.com/elec...able.pdf&title=Low-Cost Electronic Quiz Table

2) http://www.electronicsforu.com/EFYLinux/circuit/May2006/CI-01_May06.pdf

3) http://www.mitedu.freeserve.co.uk/Circuits/Misc/quiz.htm

The first one looked okay, the logic described is simple and it can easily be expanded if needed. Uses only diodes and transistors.

The second looked good with 1 IC to do all the 'thinking' for me and a couple of handfuls of other components, but having read up on the IC used being a TTL device discounted it due to the 5V +/- 5% power restraints (I don't want to have to start building regulated power circuits too).

The third uses CMOS logic ICs, 4013 flip-flops and 4081/82 AND gates. I can follow the logic again and see if I need to I can expand it. Unfortunately the link seems to have gone down - but I can remember the circuit and have added it below. This is the one I decided to go for and am planning do drive it from standard 9V battery.

Now, having bought components for circuit 3 I find the IC circuit in 2 is available in CMOS also - oh well that may be project 2 for an eight button option for a future quiz.