Convert 9V to 10 separate 4.5V

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
Hi I am a newbie of sorts, still not fully grasping the electrical principals, but getting there. Basically I have 10 sound recorder circuits that run off 4.5V (3 1.5V batteries) each, I'm using them in a project and would rather have them run off one battery rather than maintain 30 batteries. How can I divide a single 9V battery to 10 4.5V circuits. I realize the power won't last as long but that's not really the issue. Any help or links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
Just a note, I guess it doesn't have to be a 9V battery it could be any set of batteries that is more maintainable, or a power supply. The main thing I don't understand is how to divide the power between multiple autonomous circuits and the math to calculate that.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
A little 9V battery can supply hardly any current.
If the circuits draw exactly the same tiny current continuously then 5 circuits in parallel can be connected in series with another 5 circuits in parallel and can be powered from a 9V battery.
It is extremely simple but if you don't understand I won't sketch it for you.

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
So the 5 circuits in series parallel to another 5 circuits will act as a voltage divider, taking the 9V down to 4.5V, but as you mentioned, the battery probably won't be able to supply enough current for all of the circuits. I think, however, that a 9V adapter might be able to. I am going to see at home how much current each circuit draws and try to figure it out. Thanks for the help on that divider though, that makes sense.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hi Dan,
Do your recorders have aux power in jacks? If so, what's the voltage & power (or current) required?

What's the manufacturer and model of your recorders?

You say they operate using three 1.5v batteries - what size batteries?

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008