Yes / No indicator for Parkinson's patient

Matt Duvall

Joined Jun 15, 2015
Greetings everyone,

My name is Matt, I am a Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD. My grandmother of 87 years is suffering from Parkinson's disease. Recently her speech has become unintelligible, so not only can she barely move it is also hard for even basic communication.

During a recent visit I realized that she could still squeeze my hand which sparked an idea. I would like to build a basic yes / no indicator with a green and red LED. The trigger would be something similar to the air bulb on a blood pressure cuff, one squeeze= yes (green LED), two squeezes = no (red LED).

I found a diagram here but unfortunately it generates a random yes or no:

http://www.learningelectronics.net/circuits/yes-no-indicator-has-zero-standby_15.html

I would also need some way to change the delay time between squeezes. Since I do not know how fast she can squeeze the air bulb, I would have to adjust the timing while working with her.

I'm an old Java guy but pretty update to date with the latest web technologies, HTML5, CSS3, AngularJS. While I have built many home computers, basic electronics is a new frontier for me. I do have a Raspberry Pi that I have tinkered with, but I thought that might be a bit overkill for just a simple yes/no switch.

If anyone has time to assist me with a wiring diagram and parts list, it would be greatly appreciated. Plus any other ideas about a trigger/switch methodology would also be very helpful. Unfortunately time is of the essence, therefore I am grateful for any input. Thanks for your time.

Matt

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013