Yamaha RX-V371

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Ballistic, May 10, 2015.

1. Ballistic

Thread Starter New Member

May 10, 2015
    Hello guys, my second post, and the main reason for me joining the forum. I'm hoping someone could assist me with this issue.

I just got a Yamaha RX-V371 receiver from a friend, unit initially taken so I could strip it for spares. But, but....... it just looks so nice, and new! It was imported unit that he brought in from the States. He plugged it in not knowing that it was a 110v unit, and here in South Africa we use 220v.

And! Unit DEAD! Now I'm no electrical engineer, but neither a total idiot :) So today I checked the resistance on the standby transformer primary and i get no reading at all, secondary seems fine, and so does the main transformer, so at least that is okay, I hope. My question is, what else could have gone on the unit by plugging it into the supply? And is it possible to get a replacement standby transformer for it?

Thank you and have a great day.

Regard
    Cedric

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Is there a fuse anywhere in the primary circuit?

3. cmartinez

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 17, 2007
    Lots of things might have happened.... from a blown fuse to a burnt primary. I suggest you post some pics

4. Ballistic

May 10, 2015
    Forgot to mention, the fuse tested with a meter and it's fine. As for pics, should I upload some pics of the standby pcb?

5. cmartinez

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 17, 2007
    Load pics from the top and the underside of the PCB

6. Ballistic

May 10, 2015
    coming! :)

7. Dodgydave

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 22, 2012
    get the back off and test the voltages to and from the transformer...

8. Ballistic

May 10, 2015
    Pics as requested

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

9. Ballistic

May 10, 2015
    Gonna be a problem, the unit is 110v and here in SA we at 220v. Gonna see if I can get a step down convertor at work tomorrow and check it out.