Xenon Strobe repair

animateme

Joined May 27, 2011
Hello,
I have an old xenon strobe (disco light) that had been stored for a very long time and when I tried to turn it on recently, it no longer worked. I first assumed it was the xenon tube bulb so I replaced it but it still does not work.

I opened it up (circuit was inside wood box) to try and measure voltage at different points to see if I could determine any current interruptions but as soon as I plugged it in, there was a point on the back of the circuit that lighted up (burning) and even some smoke came out. I immediately unplugged it.

Searching information on this I found this topic: http://www.aaroncake.net/Circuits/strobe2.asp , and it seems like my circuit is very similar. The burning came from one of the terminals on what seems to be the 4KV Trigger Transformer (see red arrow on attached photos).

I am no electronics expert (I do own and can operate a multimeter), and that is where I would greatly appreciate any support on this forum, is there a way that I can troubleshoot this circuit to get it working again? Any suggestions or ideas?

Thanks on advance for any comments.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/3t4m3

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/krfks

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
It looks like the circuit board had some surface contamination that permitted arc over between the two conductors. Scrape out all of the black, coat with clear finger nail polish. Check for continuity on the trigger transformer since it looks as though the positive output of the voltage doubler arced to the secondary of the transformer. At one time, Radio Shack had the transformers.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You may want to check/replace the electrolytic capacitors, they are old enough that they may have dried out.

When is the last time the strobe functioned? It looks like it was built in late 70s/early 80s.

animateme

Joined May 27, 2011