Would 5VDC instead of 4.5VDC be a problem for LEDs?

Johnnyb60

Joined Sep 6, 2013
OK so I know this is a dumb question to you guys, but I'm just an amateur.
Anyway I have a 4.5VDC 1000mA power adapter running an array of LEDs and I want to add more LEDS, but I can only find a 5VDC adapter with the increased load to replace it with and I was wondering if it would still be within range of the LEDs. I don’t know the specks of the LEDs and I don’t know why the original design called for 4.5V.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
LEDs should be current-driven, not voltage-driven. If driven from a fixed voltage there needs to be a resistor in series with the LEDs to limit current to a safe level. Without knowing the spec of your LEDs it would not be wise to try adding more. We don't even know how many LEDs are in your array :rolleyes:.

Johnnyb60

Joined Sep 6, 2013
Thanks for replying Alex, Sorry about that. I was more concerned about the voltage and didn’t think about the current. So there are actually 4 separate arrays each rated at 300mA at 4.5V DC.

I think I figured out that the 4.5v rating is because they each can be hooked up to 3 AA batteries although I’m not using batteries and want to have just one power supply for all 4. I’m sick of all the wires and just want to clean it up a bit.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
If each LED is being run at its maximum safe current when a 4.5V supply is used, then a 5V supply might fry the LEDs. What limits the current at the moment?
You could try a 3A diode in series with the 5V to drop it down to ~4.3V.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
@Johnnyb60
If the driver for the LEDs is in fact current driven as ALEC_T suggested, then input will not likely change the constant current source much if any (but does depend on the exact nature of the current source circuit.