Working with someone smarter

electr

Joined May 23, 2009
So I'm an EE student who has been working in a company for a year now.
A new student will start working here this week.

I received his resume from a friend and since it was very impressive (he excelled in everything that he's done in his life and also excels in university) I handed it to my boss which accepted the guy right away.

I'm really happy that this guy starts working here since I feel this guy has a great potential to succeed in this field, but this thought has come to my mind that soon he might start taking control of everything and will do things better than me and that way I'll be given the less challenging missions, my boss will trust him more, etc.

How should I cope with this new situation?

I must say that during this year I worked pretty much alone so I have little experience in working in a team.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
These are natural concerns and happen to all of us. The key is to focus on your skills and abilities and make yourself valuable to the company and not worry about what the others are doing. Sure, take notes, emulate where appropriate, but use your own initiative and skills to figure out how to do the best job.

You'll also find that people, like equipment and machines, can differ a lot from their datasheets. :)