Working with Op Amp mV

Bob O

Joined Jul 3, 2007
I am studying Op Amps and need to determine the “fine characteristics” of a 741 using the range of +/- 1mV.
I have 1.5 V source on a radio shack setup and I was planning on building a voltage divider to drop the 1.5 V to 1 mV.
My calculation show two resistors R1 = 6.7 ohm and R2 = 10kOhm
Vout = Vs*R2/(R1+R2)

Does this seem practical/correct or am I missing something?

Thanks for the help and or advice.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
The input to the 741 has only about 200K resistance, which could throw your calculations off. Rather than try to make a chain of resistors in parallel and series to produce the exact voltage drop. use a fixed resistor and a trim pot - adjust the wiper to the exact level you need.

It's still sloppy and source voltage dependent, but it works.

I guess they must have been purchased by schools in the zillions so they are readily available, but using 741's to demo op amps is like teaching about cars using a 1972 Chevy Nova.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
The input resistance of an old 741 opamp is so much higher than the voltage divider's 6.7 ohm resistor that it won't make any difference in the measurement.
The input offset voltage of the old opamp which is a max of 6mV at room temperature will make a huge difference.

Bob O

Joined Jul 3, 2007
Thank you for the replies.
Sorry it took me so long to get back, watching the race yesterday and the now the big race today.

Another question, I created a bipolar power supply by following the directions but used two different voltage sources and then I tried with just one source and inverted the signals but it didn't work like I had hoped.
Did I wire it to the bread board incorrectly or can't I use the same source the way I had hoped. Just trying to remove or cut down on all these different voltage source for some of these experiments.

Thanks for your help and time.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005