Working as electronic engineer in Europe or US

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by THE_FALLEN, Mar 3, 2013.

1. THE_FALLEN

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 11, 2011
    Hi to everyone
    I'm a electronic student and i am going to emigrate to Europe or USA after i finished my master degree of electronic, I want to know which skills are more important and i must obtain them to work in that countries,
    I have skill in AVR and ARM programing,and I've started to learn FPGA designing...
    Do this skills enough to get employ in US or European countries ...

Thanks a lot

2. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    all depends on what the company needs.
    It's best to have a broad range of skills.

THE_FALLEN likes this.
  3. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    That is a great question. Most of that kind of work has gone to India and the Far East.

THE_FALLEN likes this.
  4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    The skills that you want to develop are good problem solving skills, not about programming ARM or FPGAs.

THE_FALLEN likes this.
  5. THE_FALLEN

Jan 11, 2011
    yes i know it depend on companies need but what kind of skills are more important and is great feeling to them?
    maybe there are so jobs in far Eats but there are bad condition for live and it is one of reasons that i want to emigrate.
    sorry MrChips,can you explain more about problem solving skills?this problems most related to what kind of devices or projects?

6. toffee_pie

Oct 31, 2009
    improving your grammar might be a good way to start your engineering career.

THE_FALLEN likes this.
  7. JMac3108

Aug 16, 2010
    I see job postings with a wide range of skills mentioned. But I do see a fair number that want micro-controller programming in C or occasionally C++. I see some FPGA experience mentined. And I also see a decent amount of switching power supply design.