Workbench Equipment

zopsi

Joined May 19, 2012
I am studying electrical engineering in college and I am looking for some recommendations for buying my first oscilloscope oscilloscope and function generator in addition to any recommendations on tools or other supplies for a work bench.

I currently already have a DC power supply (Instek GPS-4303), a Hakko FX-951 soldering station, an assortment of wiha screwdrivers, and some lindstrom cutters and pliers for my workbench.

In terms of oscilloscopes and function generators I was looking at the Tektronix 2014C and an Instek AFG-2025, but then I thought it might be more prudent to start with something cheaper like the Rigol DS1102E and the Rigol DG1022.

Keep in mind I am probably going to buy a cheap analog scope in addition to the digital one so I get the full experience.

Should I shell out for the Tek and Instek or stay with the Rigol? Or are there any better recommendations for a function generator (preferably able to do arbitrary waveforms) and an oscilloscope?

I am also looking for a new DMM. I have had a fluke before and they are great. Anything less than 600 would be acceptable for me in this category.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What are you, loaded?
What's the point of having a workbench full of expensive equipment and don't know how to use it?

My approach would be to start building stuff and buy what you need as the need arises.

I started off with a $10 analog test meter and perfboard. (Didn't have Wishboard then - in fact didn't have ICs).

So my suggestion would be to start with:

Test meter (analog or digital)
9V battery (or walwart power pack)
solderless breadboard
some IC, R, C, LED
PICkit2
Arduino

and start experimenting!

zopsi

Joined May 19, 2012