Wiring a Solenoid Door Lock/Unlock Question

VulnoX

Joined May 30, 2008
Hello all, I am in my last semester of my computer engineering degree, and one of our last classes is a senior design project. My group is making a security door system using an HC12 Microcontroller, a solenoid, IR sensor, a "security" computer, and all that.

What I am here for is that I want to have it so that when the user enters a correct password, the MC can trigger a solenoid to lock/unlock a door. I was originally thinking of using just a sliding bolt lock to work best with the solenoids movements.

My main issue is that being a CE, my experience with circuits is limited, and our EE in our group is not... doing much on this, so since I actually want to graduate, I thought I would look into it myself. I found a couple of the parts I think I need. I found a possible solenoid:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=527-1028-ND

and I think this might work for a power supply:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=T969-P5P-ND

I talked to some of the instructors/lab people at school and they suggested I make a circuit that is basically the power running to, I think they said, a transistor. They said there was a transistor that would allow me to run the power to one connection, and a digital logic signal from my Microcontroller, and so when the MCU sends the signal to unlock the door, the power would pass through the transistor into the solenoid, and unlock said lock.

They also suggested picking up a diode, while on lunch today waiting for the food to be ready, I picked up a 12V, I think 600mA, something like that, Diode from Radioshack. It was a buck, if it doesnt work oh well.

They said this would prevent the sudden power jump when the solenoid activates from frying the transistor.