wireless vibration stimulus project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by razorcutter, Nov 27, 2013.

1. razorcutter

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 27, 2013
    i am a doctor and I don't know even the ABC of electronics. So kindly bear in mind the stupid questions i may raise here

i want to create an electronic gadget which

has a transmitter and a receiver which communicate through wireless protocols

transmitter- must have 2 or 3 buttons. i will be pressing these buttons for 1 second max. They must activate the vibrators in the receiver end

receiver - must have 2 or 3 vibrators. the amount of vibration in a cell phone will be quite sufficient. i want to place these 2 or 3 vibrators on different parts of skin

how do i go about this project. kindly guide me

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Doable, but requires some knowledge of electronics.
    Just as I wouldn't attempt any kind of surgical operation on anyone.
    You can actually buy the tiny vibrators used in cell phones.

3. sirch2

Jan 21, 2013
    The easiest route for a new comer is probably to use available modules and this probably means a micro-controller (PIC/Arduino) at either end with radio modules (one option may be bluetooth but other radio modules are available). Driving the vibrators would just need a transistor driven from one of the micro controller pins.

You could do it without micro-controllers but that is probably a bit more challenging.

You could write phone app to act as the controller/transmitter over bluetooth but that is a whole other learning curve, not too difficult though.

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    How far away will you be from the patient?
    You can use IR.

A simple solution would be to use a TV/VCR/DVD universal remote.
    The receiver part is not difficult to build with some technical assistance.

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010