Wirecut alarm system

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by szabikka, Oct 13, 2014.

1. szabikka

Thread Starter Member

Sep 3, 2014
    Hi everyone!

I'm currently working on an alarm system consisting of a PIR detector and a wire cut detector. I drew a circuit that seems to be working in simulator, but I would like to ask you to take a look at it. I'm concerned about missing resistors around the transistors (I don't want to fry them) but I would appreciate any other tips too. It works as follows: 1) if any of the wires are cut at the places marked by an SPST switch the buzzers should sound; 2) the 10 mF capacitor ensures that if both batteries are cut off at the same time the buzzers will sound (for a short amout of time); 3) The 555 is connected as a bistable so it remains on indefinitely. It's a bit difficult to understand at first, but as an amateur I couldn't come up with anything better (and if the burglar doesn't understand the circuit it's even better :) ). The diode in the lower left is going to the PIR detector, it doesn't come into account in the wirecut part.

Thanks for your help in advance!

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    You are right to worry about your transistors - with no base resistors, they'll be toast. Think of the base-emitter path as a diode or even a short. You may also need to limit current through the collector-emitter paths, depending on those buzzers. And Q27 will pop like a fuse if it is turned on. [oops, I mis-traced where it went]

What is D19 for?

A 10µF capacitor won't run that circuit for more than a few tenths of a second. I haven't done the math, but I'm sure it's very short.

3. szabikka

Thread Starter Member

Sep 3, 2014
    Thanks for your reply wayneh!

I was worried about the base emitter path myself. I will come up with something around them.