Will this work with N Channal MOSFET ?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by San fr, Jun 6, 2016.

1. San fr

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 20, 2016
    Respected members and forum moderators,

My question might be a silly one as I am a total beginner in electronics and started learning from internet and by building little circuits so please bear with me.

I am trying to charge a 6v 4.5Ah sealed lead acid battery with 12v DC, 2 Amps power supply (I will reduce the voltage upto 7-8v later on)& a 100ohms 2watts resistor connected to positive terminal of the battery.

A Microcontroller will control the charging of the battery there by switching the current source to it On/Off at predefined voltages.

As N channel MOSFETs are generally interfaced like the image below...
    _20160606_135055.JPG

Could we take the LED out from the circuit and directly connect the positive and negative terminals of the battery at that place? I know I can use a relay but what if we do this way?
    Like the image below... _20160606_135914.JPG

Kindly guide me,
    Regards

2. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    hi San,
    The N MOSFET will be either On or Off, as you have a 6V SLA battery across a 12V supply is a bad idea.

E

3. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    Your hand drawn circuit will work. The charging current will be limited by the 100 ohm resistor:
    Charging current = (PSU voltage - Battery voltage) / Resistor value
    = (12-6) / 100
    = 60mA
    Power dissipated in the resistor = (PSU voltage - Battery voltage) ^ 2 / Resistor value
    = (12 - 6) ^ 2 / 100
    = 0.36W

[Edit] Your first diagram shows an LED in series with where the battery would connect. This is a bad idea - most LED's would be damaged by 60mA.

San fr likes this.
  4. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    What type of switch will be controlled by the μC?

5. BobTPH

Jun 5, 2013
    Presumably the MOSFET switch.

Bob

6. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008