Why wont my capacitors work ? - They just won't work no matter what I do!

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Barrythecableguy, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Barrythecableguy

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2016
    My name is Barry Stansfield, I began my electronics journey just six weeks ago!

I desperately need your help! I am new to electronics and I have been trying to build a simple LED –capacitor circuit on a breadboard. It is proving mission impossible, the capacitors won’t work! I’ve tried everything, I have used over two dozen different capacitors and almost every combination of resistor and transistor that I can think of. I thought that it may have been the breadboard so I tried setting up the circuit on three different breadboards and the result was the same. The capacitor simply isn’t charging, it’s supposed to stay on when the switch is turned off thus allowing the LED to remain lit for a couple of extra seconds, but when I turn the switch off the LED goes off immediately! Surely every capacitor I come across is not bad ? Without solving this problem I cannot move on to more complex circuits, please, please help, I am at my wits end what am I doing wrong ?

Attached is a picture of the circuit, Capictor circuit.jpg please don't leave me standing for too long.

Barry

2. bushrat

Nov 29, 2014
    Try connecting the circuit like this and let us know if it still does same thing.
    [​IMG]

3. Barrythecableguy

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Ok thanks ill give it a try, fingers crossed

4. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    NOTE on your picture in post#1, the led doesn't have a series resistor, so it will burn out.

5. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    What's the output voltage of your power supply?

The likely problem is that the output voltage of your supply is going to 0V when you shut it off, thus rapidly discharging the capacitor.