Why do op-amps have a high input resistance?

deki

Joined Sep 6, 2011
So op-amps are meant to have a high input resistance right? Typically 10^5 - 10^13 Ω according to my university studies. I don't understand exactly why?

One explanation I can think of: because op-amps amplify a signal, therefore you'd want to lower the signal as much as possible before amplifying? But this doesn't make sense to me, since why not just amplify what you're already getting at the input? Then you have inverting amplifiers..

I know that op-amps have a low output impedance (10-100Ω) and this is pretty obvious why...I'm just stuck with the high input impedance.

Dyslexicbloke

Joined Sep 4, 2010
That wasn't always the case ... have a look at their history in wikipedia!

FET based opamps, which are basic stock components these days have very high input impedance because the gates are Field Effect Transistor based, although the types still vary.

I am no expert so cant give you the lowdown on the basic types but it is safe to say if you look up FET gate types, JFET, MosFET for example you will get a handle on things.

Very generally you would use an OpAmp when you wanted to measure a voltage differential without having to worry about any input current affecting the signal you are trying to measure. (There is always a tiny current but it is usually so small that you can ignore it for most practical purposes.

There is a good tutorial on op-amps on this site in 'Vol. III - Semiconductors' I think.

Output impedance is not always low in fact if you were to look at a transconductance ( possibly transductance ) you will see that it actually controls impedance as opposed to voltage
Useful for making voltage controlled resistors with effectively isolated inputs, but again I am no expert.

Op-amps are a huge subject in their own right so having just said 'in general' I am now going to say that there is such a diverse range that generalities will not get you all that far.