Why do I need this resistor?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by mcgski, Jan 18, 2011.

1. mcgski

Thread Starter Member

May 6, 2009
    First off, I'm not a circuit guy but more a code jockey. I got my Comp Sci degree in the 80's when you had to learn digital logic to graduate and spent about four years programming embedded system in the mid 90's. So the upshot is I know enough to be dangerous. I ran across this problem that I eventually solved but quite honestly don't know why it worked and I really want to learn what's happening.

I have a simple security sensor that puts about a 50 ms pulse out when tripped. I want to latch the signal so I used a simple NAND gate latch with signal and reset both active low. The input signal for the latch is going into a SN74LS00N component with 5v power. The same 5v is going through the sensor to produce the signal pulse.

Everything is hooked up correctly and I'm using a scope to watch the timing. The signal from the sensor is going from 5v to zero (or about that) but when I hook it up to the 7400 chip, the voltage never gets below 1.2v. The result is the latch never triggers.

I was able to add a resistor to the signal pin and connect it to GND. The input voltage dropped to about 4.4v (enough to be considered high for the part) and on the sensor pulse dropped within range to signal a low pulse and activate the latch.

My question is why is this needed? I seem to recall when I worked with this stuff that there might be some "pulling up" of some of the voltage from the part which translates to the input signal. That's why I tried the resistor in the first place. It was like I needed to pull it low a bit to get the 7400 to trigger.

I'm sure this is a noob question so if there are any tutorials you can point me to with the answer, blast away.

Thanks in advance!!!

2. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    I have a possible answer, but it depends on your answer to these questions: