Why Ammeter is connected in series?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by uzair, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. uzair

    uzair Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    110
    0
    We connect an ammeter in series, but what is the reason for it?
    A good link can also help!
     
    #1
  2. hgmjr

    hgmjr Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    207
    Here is the info on ammeters in the AAC ebook.

    hgmjr
     
    #2
  3. uzair

    uzair Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    110
    0
    The ammeter is not connected in parallel because it will draw large current and disturb the circuit, right?
     
    #3
  4. beenthere

    beenthere Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    271
    It is in series because current flows in parallel branches of a circuit. The ammeter has to be a series element in order for all the current to go through it.
     
    #4
  5. hgmjr

    hgmjr Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    207
    Yes, that is correct.

    An ammeter by its nature has a very low input resistance. That is why if it is connected in parallel with a circuit element such as a resistor or a capacitor, it is the same as placing a very low resistor in parallel with the component or components across which is paralleled.

    hgmjr
     
    #5
  6. uzair

    uzair Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    110
    0
    Ok thanks now i feel clearer about it
     
    #6
  7. rwmoekoe

    rwmoekoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    172
    0
    i thought this might get it clearer too.
    when we want to measure the current flow in a wire, the current should pass our ammeter, that is in series, to let it do the task. if we put it in parallel with the circuit we wanna measure, then it won't be doing the job of measuring the current flow in th circuit, instead it is generating a new current loop parallel to the first circuit.
     
    #7
  8. cumesoftware

    cumesoftware Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    1,330
    10
    In practice, you will cause a short circuit and you may damage the ammeter. So use your ammeter always in series with the load for which you want to measure the current. The ammeter has such a small resistance that will not cause any significant voltage drop. So the load won't be disturbed.
     
    #8
Loading...