Help Wanted Which soldering iron is best choice

Discussion in 'Marketplace' started by PsySc0rpi0n, Oct 13, 2016.

1. PsySc0rpi0n

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Mar 4, 2014
  2. tranzz4md

Apr 10, 2015
    Those are very similar tools, and I have no experience with either of them that I can remember. If you know of either mfr or name brand as being questionable, avoid it, but even cheap off-brands usually work good enough for a while.

Neither one shown is for heavy work, but 25W is larger than what I typically use on printed circuit board work. Still, tip selection is what matters for getting the job done. Personally, I'd buy something like that in person, so I could hold it and see it, but perhaps you don't have that opportunity. I've used different irons in different shops, but my own are Weller, I just stick with them. There's good availability of replacement tips etc.

3. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    I have no experience of either of these irons or the manufacturers (I also have a weller!).
    The second one has a wider range of tips to choose from but they are more expensive too.
    I think, as a first iron, I'd go with the cheaper one. After you've done some soldering you'll discover what's important to you.

4. PsySc0rpi0n

Mar 4, 2014
    But do you guys knows any of these two brands or not even that? I'm also looking at those Wellers!

5. ci139

Jul 11, 2016
    i guess i have 40W adjustable weller with non etchable tip
    the other 50% is what you youse on it

6. PsySc0rpi0n

Mar 4, 2014
    Ok, I might consider a solder station because you all seem reasonably correct!
    But in that case I might also need to increase budget!
    Probably I'll be able to spend about 100€ = $110 = 90£. Ok with maybe +/-30€ = 27£ = $33.
    Between these 3 brands and up to at most maybe 60W/80W and with adjustable temperature, what you guys think I can get??

PS: I prefer to buy within EU to avoid customs problems!

7. ci139

Jul 11, 2016