Which microcontroller and which book?

aibiluv

Joined Nov 24, 2010
Hello

I am in my 3rd year computer engineering. I will be starting microntroller next semester.
Please i will like to know which micro controller to learn. And a good practical book. A book that teaches using an actual development kit.

aibiluv

Joined Nov 24, 2010
Thanks for your response that was really fast.
Actually my course just studies micro controller in general. I will like to start having practical knowledge in embedded system. I'm a good programmer. I've made applications in c,c++,java and pascal. however i want to go into hardware.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Find out which microcontrollers can be programmed by the schools programmers and choose one.

Popular ones are PICs, AVRs and Texas Instruments micros.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Google will provide a good deal of background material and examples for any uC you choose.

You will most likely have your choice made for you by the school, which typically use PICs, some use older controllers, such as the 8051 or even embedded microprocessors (vs. microcontollers) like the 6502 or Z80.

See what you can find out from the syllabus so you have an idea of what you'll be running into.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
The best thing would be to talk to the person responsible for the course. As this person will give all info you need like recommend books, and MCU brand used in class. Learning about MCUs is much like learning to swim. You can not learn how to swim without getting wet. And it is hard to learn about MCUs without programming them.

aibiluv

Joined Nov 24, 2010
My school won't teach us any uC in particular. But most likely our practicals would be on 8051.
I actually want to buy the development kit and the book. I want a book that will show me how to connect the stuffs together and how to debug.
I want to buy a book that teaches based on a particular development kit.