1. franzschluter

Thread Starter Active Member

Jun 1, 2009
    Hello I am new to MCU. And I have a couple of questions regarding MCU specs..

For starters to my project, I would like to get the hardware in the correct order not to purchase the wrong items. And hence the programming later on...

I need the following requirements
    -2 input Analog Comparator of at least 200ns reading response
    -1~2 ouput Highspeed PWM at least 1Mhz. Pref 10Mhz.
    (This will be linked to a high power mosfet generating 90V~160V @ 1~10Mhz @ 25Amps. As an electrode in an EDM)
    -Enough pins available for LCD and a simple touchpad preferably (10 buttons)
    -If possible C language.. I am bad with assembly language
    -Multi-threading

The scenario is in an EDM.
    The MCU will measure 90V~160V from a voltage divider. Once the electrode (Anode) touches the workpiece (Cathode) the voltage will naturally drop till it shorts or 0V.. The MCU detects this and will retract the electrode.. The user may be able to set a certain Voltage drop level to maintain the distance between anode and cathode..This is the basic process of EDM...

-The pulse on the electrode must be PWM and adjustable like mentioned above.
    -The ADC integrated in the MCU must be able to react fast enough to retract the electrode in order to reach a preset voltage level. (Not shorted not open)...
    -A menu would be nice to set the desired voltage level and the pulses for its electrode.

So far I have done this using analog parts. Aka LM339 and trimpots. Somehow I would like to upgrade my system using an MCU for more functions and perhaps even later on softwarewise a PID.

Could anyone recommend me which MCU is best suited for this task?

2. ctstoner

Jul 12, 2011
  3. RiJoRI

Aug 15, 2007
    Multithreading and C are not intrinsic to a microcontroller. Most popular micros these days have a C compiler available. Multithreading is usually operating-system dependent, and not all OSs support all micros.